I’m ready.

I’m ready.

I am ready to bring you home little girl, in my arms instead of this gigantic baby belly that makes me so tired. I am ready to see your face and count your fingers and toes, to see whether you have as much hair as your older sister did, to kiss your little nose. I am ready to see your pretty eyes and introduce myself to you. I am ready to hold your hands in mine, to sing you a song, to hold you close.

I am ready to introduce you to your sister. I can’t wait to see her reaction to you. She loves babies, you know. I’ll try to make her give you some room, but you should expect lots of kisses and hugs. She will call you “baby sister” for a while until we can get her to say your name. I hope that’s okay. She’s very excited about you.

I’m a little nervous about having two babies to take care of, so I hope you’ll be patient with me. (Your sister isn’t really a baby anymore, but you are both my babies, and that’s just how it will always be.) Sometimes I may do the wrong thing, or cry because I’m tired and overwhelmed, or take too long to figure out what you are trying to tell me. I promise I will do my best to be a good mommy to you, and to your sister, too.

I hope you don’t mind that a lot of your stuff used to belong to your sister. We got you some new stuff, too! Your sister likes your zebra bedding. She asked if she could have it, but we told her it was for her sister. She was okay with that, but she still likes to come into our room to look at it. We decided you deserved to have some stuff that was just yours, brand new. We hope you like it, too!

Are you ready to greet the world, baby girl? It’s a big place, but don’t worry. I’m here, and so is your daddy, and your sister. We will watch out for you and keep you safe, and we already love you more than you can possibly know! (You’ve got grandparents and aunts and uncles and cousins and friends eagerly awaiting your arrival as well!)

I am trying to enjoy these last couple weeks when I know that you are as safe as you will ever be, all mine for just a little longer, not having to share you with anyone, well-nourished and content in there. But it’s so hard when I am feeling so impatient to meet you, officially, as it were. When we can both see each other instead of just feeling movements and wondering what in the world the other is doing.

Please let me meet you soon, baby girl. I’m so ready for you!

Ready Mama

One thought on “I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

