18 Months Old Already?!

18 Months Old Already?!

We took B to the doctor for her 18 month check-up yesterday. She was officially a year and a half old on May 5th. I can’t believe that so much time has gone by. I was watching some old videos of her on my phone today, from when she first rolled over, sat up, crawled, laughed. It was crazy to see how little she was just a few months ago, and how much she truly has changed, even just in the last few weeks.

I decided to do a blog just kind of outlining B’s current “stats” if you will. Her weight and height and vocabulary. I haven’t done one of those in a while, and I feel like now is as good a time as any to catch up.

She currently weighs in at 24 pounds and is 32 inches tall. (I think she may actually be taller, but Miss Wiggle Worm made it difficult to get an accurate measurement, so we’ll go with 32 inches.)

B’s vocabulary is growing every day (in fact she learned another new word today!), but here’s the current list of mastered words:

  1. Hi
  2. Bye/Bye-bye
  3. Keys
  4. Car
  5. Book (When she’s really excited, this word becomes “boo boo”)
  6. Mama
  7. Daddy
  8. Papa
  9. Uh oh
  10. Okay
  11. Puppy
  12. Woof
  13. Ball
  14. GG (Great Grandma’s name)
  15. Hello
  16. Coat
  17. All done/All gone (It’s hard to tell which one she’s saying sometimes, but I’m pretty sure I’ve heard both)
  18. Mom (oddly used more than “mama”)
  19. Shoe
  20. Go bye-bye (she only ever says this as a phrase, never just “go”)
  21. Wow
  22. Nose
  23. Baby

B is insanely curious about everything, and she wants to know what everything is called. She laughs easily and often. She has a mischievous streak, and when she’s caught doing something wrong, her standard reaction is to run up to you, throw her arms around your legs, and positively BEAM her smile up at you while giggling like a maniac. (I’m in so much trouble.) 

She loves being read to, and we’re learning how much patience is required to read the same book three hundred times in a row. Her favorite book right now, which is our designated Bedtime Book, is The Bear Snores On. It’s a very cute story, and I highly recommend it to anyone with kids. She loves it so much she’s been refusing to let go of it after we read it (twice in a row) before bed, so I decided it wasn’t worth fighting her. She’s been sleeping holding onto her puppy with one hand and her book with the other. (Parenting done right?)

She loves fruit. Raspberries seem to be her go-to favorite, but she’ll gobble down pretty much any fruit you put in front of her. She also loves her vegetables, yogurt, and chicken. Knock on wood, she has thus far been NOT picky at all about what she eats, though she hates tomatoes. (That could be because she grabbed it thinking it was a grape, though. :))

Our girl loves shoes. Her shoes, our shoes, your shoes, it doesn’t matter. She will find them, and she will try to put them on herself or whomever they belong to. I sense a very large shoe budget in her future! Oh, and when we took her to the doctor the other day, she refused to leave the apartment without her purse. *dies of cuteness overload* Sorry…I’m okay now. 

She’s also been going around hugging her teddy bears and puppy dogs, and dragging her blanket all around the apartment with her. Today, out of the blue, we had a hugging marathon. We were sitting on my bed, and she walked across the bed and gave me a hug. Then sat back down. Then gave me another hug. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. It was adorable!

She’s definitely a toddler though, throwing her tantrums and fighting her naps. I feel like we’ve got a pretty good handle on that part of it though. I’m actually somewhat proud of us, as parents. Not trying to brag…just proud of how we’ve learned right along with B how to handle certain situations and read between the lines and figure out what she needs from us. It’s nice to not feel lost or overwhelmed when it comes to our kiddo. I’m starting to feel like I’m not such a newbie anymore. I know there’s still a lot of stuff that hasn’t hit yet (I’m trying really hard not to panic about potty training), but for now, I’ve got this, and that feels good.

 

Not Such a New Mom

 

Leave a Reply

