First Steps

First Steps

My daughter took her first solo steps today. I had said just yesterday that I was sure she would walk before the end of the year, and now she has. Three steps from a chair to me, and I am so happy and proud of her. I know it’s not a lot of steps, but she did it all on her own, with her arms stretched toward me and a smile on her beautiful face.

I don’t think she understood why I grabbed her up and danced around the room with her while saying in a sing song voice “you did it you did it you did it” or why my eyes were full of happy tears, or why I couldn’t stop kissing her face…but she smiled and laughed and clapped and said “Mama! Hi, mama!”

D didn’t get to see it, which made me a little sad, but we called him with FaceTime on my iPhone, and he was so happy to hear it. He’s been miserably sick the last few days, so hearing happy news was good for him, it brought a big smile.

I was hoping B would walk to D when he got home, but it was nap time and she wasn’t interested. Oh, well. He will get to see her take wobbly steps toward him while she grins and reaches for daddy soon enough.

I was so afraid I would miss these steps, this milestone in particular was important to me and I was afraid I would be at work. I am so happy I saw her walk for the first time, that I was there and didn’t have to hear about it from someone else. I just wish D had been home, too.

One Happy Mama

Leave a Reply

