Hello!

Hello!

My daughter officially turned one today! So that means I am a “New Mommy” no longer, and my “MisAdventures of a New Mom” blog is moving over here, to the awesomely titled (if I do say so myself) ‘Mommyhood in Motion” blog. šŸ™‚ Welcome!

Just because I’ve renamed the blog, though, doesn’t mean I’ll stop having misadventures. So have no fear…you’ll still get to read about my bumbling parenting. I just wanted to change the name of the bumbling.

Just a quick introduction for my new readers before I ramble on like I usually do:

My name is Jessica, my husband is D, and our beautiful daughter is B. I blog about our adventures as a family…our good ones and our bad ones! I have plans to expand the blog to include recipes, arts and craft ideas, resources for parents, and various other sub-pages. It may take me a while to get going, but that’s the plan! Now, onto my regularly scheduled randomness.

Today, to celebrate B’s birthday, I wanted to take her to get her picture taken at a local picture studio and take her to a playground to play. I know that’s not much, but she’s having a stellar party this weekend, so I figured that would be enough. Unfortunately, you can make plans but you can’t plan the outcome…

My daughter decided to test out her toddler tantrums today! It was a very trying day, but I still managed to wish her a happy birthday once an hour or so, and to tell her that I loved her about a hundred times. We played, and we napped, and we went about a pretty normal day except for having dinner with my dad (Bri’s Papa) and her staying up way too late.

Her separation anxiety has recently gotten much worse than it used to. She started having it a lot earlier than most babies (at least according to her pediatrician), but lately it’s been multiplied and it’s awful! I cannot walk into another room (leaving her with her dad) without hearing a heart-wrenching wail! Today it was especially bad…I blame myself. I left for work while she was napping yesterday, and apparently she was very unhappy about that when she woke up. Who knew? (Another misadventure moment! Lol.) Putting her to bed tonight was a major event…involving lots of screaming and crying, but we got there in the end.

All in all, though, B’s first day as a one-year-old wasn’t bad. It was good, actually, to spend the entire day with her. And while we didn’t manage her pictures today, we have her scheduled for a photo session on Thursday, so that should be…fun? Interesting? I always meant to have them done a lot sooner than this, but barring the ones Jasmin did for us back in March at my dad’s house (which were AMAZING), this will be B’s first studio shoot. šŸ™‚ I’m excited but nervous…and I have no idea what outfit to put her in, or what D and I should wear…not to mention my limited choices due to my very limited clothing choices that actually fit. Shame on me!

This blog is all over the place, but I did want to mention that I have set a goal to lose 40 pounds and get toned again. I miss being in shape, and I’ve been lazy about it. “I don’t have time” isn’t a legitimate excuse when your daughter goes to sleep at 7:30 and takes two naps during the day.

Thanks for following me over from my old page!

B’s Mommy

3 thoughts on “Hello!

  1. Hi Jess-
    I wanted to comment as I’ve been following your blog for a while now. I’ve been reading your TRs over at Passporter and have just gone from there šŸ™‚ Anyway- your daughter is a cutie! It seems like she has TONS of personality, which is so fun. I have a daughter also- 11 months today, so many of the things you write about I TOTALLY understand! Just wanted to pop in and say hi!

Leave a Reply

